Baker Mayfield named 83rd Heisman Winner


Palm Beach Post

(From left to right) Lamar Jackson, Bryce Love and Baker Mayfield.

On Dec. 9, Oklahoma Sooners Quarterback Baker Mayfield was named the 83rd Heisman Trophy winner at the Annual Heisman Memorial Trophy Gala in New York City.

Mayfield won in a landslide, earning 732 first place votes, followed by Stanford running back Bryce Love’s 75 votes and Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson’s 47 votes. Lamar Jackson won in 2016.

“It’s been a dream come true to play at OU… It’s an honor to get to represent my school,” Mayfield said during his acceptance speech.

Mayfield is the first winner to begin his career as a walk-on since the NCAA began allowing athletic scholarships in 1950.

“No one who has ever won the Heisman Trophy began his career as a walk-on,” ESPN broadcaster Chris Fowler said.

Mayfield’s road to the Heisman has not been untarnished, however.

In Feb., Mayfield was arrested in Arkansas for public intoxication, disorderly conduct, resisting arrest and fleeing.

In Sept., Mayfield planted the Oklahoma Sooners flag on the Ohio State field after a 31 to 16 win over the Buckeyes.

In addition, during a game against Kansas in Nov., Mayfield incited outrage after inappropriate behavior directed at the Jayhawks. This behavior had him sitting out during the first quarter of Oklahoma’s game against West Virginia.

However, many believe his behavior on-field has more than made up for these transgressions.

Mayfield has been historically good, with the best all-time passer rating (203.8) and the best all-time yards per attempt (11.8).

Oklahoma’s offense also leads in yards per play and yards per game.

Mayfield is the sixth Sooner to win the Heisman, joining Billy Vessels (1952), Steve Owens (1969), Billy Sims (1978), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008).