BTS is back with another album “Map of the Soul: Persona”


A shot of all BTS members and Halsey in the “Boy with Luv” video. They are in the scene where Halsey is exiting the ticket booth of the magic shop while the boys are out front just gazing into space.

After completing their world tour for the final album of the “Love Yourself” trilogy, “Love Yourself: Answer,” BTS and BigHit began teasing fans with a comeback. The new album “Map of the Soul: Persona” will be released on April 12.

Fans speculated the comeback was closer than anticipated when member Jungkook posted sketches of what seemed to be hints to the concept of the album or a song title. Fans began looking for any clues or confirmation of a new album.

Fans were sent into a frenzy when BigHit Entertainment released the comeback trailer on March 27 for “Map of the Soul: Persona.”

The two-minute trailer is of leader and rapper RM featuring a heavy, hip-hop beat with vivid animations. The trailer references their 2014 comeback trailer “Intro: Skool Luv Affair,” which leads fans to speculate this album will somehow connect to the past album.

On March 31, following the release of the trailer, BigHit released numerous concept photos organized in groups. Some are individual photos, and others are group photos. Each vivid picture includes hidden references to their songs.

On April 7, the group released yet another trailer for their song “Boy with Luv” featuring Halsey. The song serves as part two to their song “Boy in Luv” from their previous album “Skool Luv Affair.”

The trailer shows what seems to be an entrance to the movie theater with Halsey in the ticket booth waiting to leave, clad in all pink. Glancing at the clock, she hurriedly leaves the ticket booth to see the seven members of BTS sitting on a pink couch, also wearing pink, under a large fluorescent sign that reads “Persona.” As she is passing she stops, glances at the boys before continuing to walk. Once Halsey is out of the frame, there is a transition to all seven members’ backs; they are facing a sign that reads “Love” as Jungkook sings “And a boy with love.”

On April 8, BTS released the track list to their album on Twitter. The album will consist of seven songs: “Intro: Persona,” “Boy with Luv,” featuring Halsey “Mikrokosmos,” “Make it Right,” “HOME,” “Jamais Vu” and “Dionysus.”

BTS released part two of the “Boy with Luv” trailer on April 10. This half of the trailer shows close-up solo shots of each member, along with a dance number.

On the morning of April 12, BTS released their album and “Boy with Luv” music video at 18:00 [6 p.m.] Korean Standard Time.

The album is a mix of new sounds for BTS. The instrumentals include a range of 90s pop and funk to heavy hip-hop and rock beats with the incorporation of their classic ballad style.

There are songs on the album in dedication to their fans such as “HOME” which expresses the love they have for the ARMY. The other songs are more along the lines of figuring out self-identity and owning your differences, with references to Greek Philosophy and Psychology.